Judging process

How the judges are chosen

EGR’s team of independent, external judges is updated each year and is selected to bring a diverse range of in-depth egaming expertise to the judging process. All judges are required to sign a disclaimer form to keep all submitted information and the winners confidential, and are obliged to declare that they have no conflicts of interest prior to judging. The full list of judges will be published after the judging process has been completed so that there is no attempt to influence the judges as this would result in immediate disqualification from the awards.

How categories are allocated to the judges

Groups of judges are allocated categories, which are aligned to their specific market knowledge and avoid conflict of interest. Each group of judges have no access to the submissions or results of categories they are not involved in judging.

The shortlisting process

Awards will only be awarded in categories where two or more submissions have been received. A panel of independent, external judges decides on the shortlist prior to the submissions being sent to the final judges.

The judges read and analyse the submissions. Each judge allocates a score to each individual criteria per category, as well as a brief summary of their thoughts.

Once the above is complete, judges submit their scores.

Once the scores are submitted the winners are then automatically calculated by our online judging platform.

If there is no clear winner a conference call will be held by the allocated judges for that category.

EGR does not contribute or have a vote within this process. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony.

The judging period is from June 2022 - June 2023

Submission feedback

EGR do not share individual judges’ scores and comments, however explanations for the winner of each category will be provided online after the event.

Game of the year -  Judging process

The Game of the year has a public voting, all the companies shortlisted will be able to vote through an online platform.

Headline categories - Judging process

The Headline Categories consist of our most hotly contested awards. These categories have a different judging process to the other categories and are assessed at a judging day, where the 2023 finalists can present their entries live to the judging panel. If you're shortlisted for one of the Headline Categories you'll be invited to this year’s virtual judging day to convince the judges why you should win. This is a great opportunity to make your entry stand out from the rest of the competition. In addition to the gold winner for these categories, a silver and bronze award will also be given.

Judging Day - 6th or 7th September (TBC)

The EGR Operator Awards voting process will be officiated by accountancy giant Deloitte. The adjudication by a third-party continues to be a part of EGR's pledge to make the judging process the most stringent in the industry. This ensures that the judging process is completely transparent, and the winners will clearly demonstrate the innovation and commercial success required to be rewarded with this honour.

Get in touch

If you have any questions or need any more information please contact one of the team.

Ellie Humphryes
event manager
+44 20 7832 6673
Sam Compagnoni
+44 7825 293 873
Clark Beecroft
+44 7713 238 453